Chimney cleaning advice needed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ericj

Oct 9, 2010
Iowa
I've been burning the entire month of January in my newly installed Lopi Republic 1750 and today I went on the roof to check the chimney. Let me describe the creosote I found: After removing the rain cap I found a pitch black shiny coating on the inside of the chimney with small black ash stuck in it. The rain cap itself was covered with creosote also. I began running my poly brush down the chimney - until I realized that only Heman himself could reverse the brush mid chimney. (I have a 30 degree offset and am worried the brush will get stuck in it. I plan to trim the brush a bit and try again.) The brush didn't seem to scratch the surface of the cresote. I don't think I'll be able to clean this stuff out of the chimney. Is this to be expected? Does this sound typical considering that I'm burning one year seasoned oak? (I am splitting it small and leaving the door cracked until its really burning well.) Any advice?

ericj said: