Chimney Liner and Install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ma.monty

Mar 31, 2016
Ohio
I'm a newbie with a few questions. I've decided to try burning wood as a secondary and emergency heat source. We have a heat-o-lator prefab fire place and I have been researching whether to install an insert or wood stove in the opening. I have decided to install a Buck 74 and a SS liner. I'm pretty handy around the house and planned on installing it myself. There are so many different brands of liners what brand do you all recommend? My hearth is 13 inches off the floor, how do "the do it yourselfers" raise the stove to insert it into the opening? This Buck 74 weighs about 460 lbs. Or is this something that should be done by a professional? Thanks for your time. I look forward to your response.

I'm a newbie with a few questions. I've decided to try burning wood as a secondary and emergency heat source. We have a heat-o-lator prefab fire place and I have been researching whether to install an insert or wood stove in the opening. I have decided to install a Buck 74 and a SS liner. I'm pretty handy around the house and planned on installing it myself. There are so many different brands of liners what brand do you all recommend? My hearth is 13 inches off the floor, how do "the do it yourselfers" raise the stove to insert it into the opening? This Buck 74 weighs about 460 lbs. Or is this something that should be done by a professional? Thanks for your time. I look forward to your response.
Couple sets of arms boards or a pallet jack maybe a ramp.