Cleaning Chimney from the inside

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

daveswoodhauler

Minister of Fire
May 20, 2008
Massachusetts
Just looking for some advice on the flexible rods to clean the chimney from the inside. I have a small bend (appx 20 degrees or so) I am looking at the flexible rods,and am wondering if its worth the money to spend on the ones that click/lock together vs screwing them into each other. My run is appx 26 feet from the top of the insert to the top...too long a run to clean from the inside?
Thanks.

Our clean out is 4' above the floor in the cellar the chimney cleaners told us we should easily do it ourselves from there as well. They recommended bendable rods and said you could get them at lowes or TSC. If I was going to do it I think I would go to that place the chimney sweeper here recommended cause I've read of some people that got a brush stuck in there.

Two years ago I got a brush stuckin the chimney, and then broke the rod off at the base of the clean out.
Had to have the sweep get it out for me. There's is a ring on the top brushes the he hooked on to then pulled it out.

My only bottom access to my 6" chimney is a tee with a 9" depth. Do they make a rod that is flexible enough to make that bend?

ilikewood said: