Cold air Intake ??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillier23

Jan 9, 2015
Illinois
Guys, I'm cleaning my older fireplace and have a question about what I suspect is a cold air intake. Have a look at the pictures below:

My question is: Is this in fact a cold air intake for the blowers on the side? If so, it was full of ash and insulation there is no way it could get air through, does this tray need a filter of some sort to prevent ash and hot coals to get under the firebox?

Clearly I'm a newbie to this fireplace scene, any and all advice is welcome.

Guys, I'm cleaning my older fireplace and have a question about what I suspect is a cold air intake. Have a look at the pictures below:

My question is: Is this in fact a cold air intake for the blowers on the side? If so, it was full of ash and insulation there is no way it could get air through, does this tray need a filter of some sort to prevent ash and hot coals to get under the firebox?

Clearly I'm a newbie to this fireplace scene, any and all advice is welcome.

If anything it's an air intake for the insert otherwise the blowers would suck the fire and smoke out of the fireplace.

I take back my other post. Doesn't look like a heatilator anymore. What's that grill thingamajiggy hanging in the back?