Complete Newbie Installing a Camp Stove into a Tiny House

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TinyHouse21

Oct 22, 2020
Montana
Hello! First time poster here. I'm grateful that all of you are so willing to be helpful for newbies like me!

First, a little backstory. I built a tiny house here in Montana this summer (with help), and consider myself relatively handy thanks to doing so. Well, my wife and I aren't as far along as we thought thanks to her jewelry business taking off and myself being in nursing school, and are getting a bit cold now! Right now heating with space heater(s) and we dropped to 40 inside last night. There's a cold front blowing through this weekend, so we are less than excited.

But, my dad gave me his wall tent stove that he bought a few years ago and a pipe/chimney(?) for it.

IMG_8798.jpgIMG_8799 (1).jpg

I have several problems though. I cannot afford to pay someone to figure my problems out for me, so here I am asking. First problem is that I have little idea what I am doing, and my dad's experience is limited to wall tent applications. Second is that the inner-diameter of the double-wall pipe is 4", and the stove diameter is 5".
IMG_8797.jpg
I think I rectified that by purchasing this reducer, but I wanted to check here too.
Third, I don't know if I need a ceiling support or what I need to go through the ceiling, or even if what I have is good!
IMG_8804.jpg