Complete newbie question - what would you install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ukyank

Feb 7, 2017
Pittsburgh
The reason for venturing onto this forum & this post. I am getting crowns put on my chimneys soon & while the guy is there I decided that I would like to take at least some initial steps to getting one of my fireplaces operational. Primarily will be doing the initial step of installing a new stainless steel flu as I currently have an unlined brick masonry one. I’m trying to research options as best I can

If you had a blank slate to get a fireplace in operation what route would you go?

Rundown of what’s there, future uses & other possibly pertinent info:

Northeast climate

There is currently a natural gas line run to the fireplace.

Would likely see use a couple of times a week in the evening

Not necessary as a heating source, but am not opposed to some heat generation; most definitely do not want anything that would equate to a heat net loss. Would choose aesthetics over heat given the choice (in the case of gas).

If it matters, primary current heat in the home is hot water radiators.

I’m not against wood, but respect the ease of use that comes with gas.

Current fireplace dimensions are 30” width x 18” depth x 34” height. Will likely end up being a bit smaller as it will need firebrick or something of the like installed over the current brick masonry.

No damper. Approximately 34’ from fireplace to opening of chimney; straight shot.

Cost is secondary, but I don't want to go crazy either