Complete newbie with a WoodChuck 3200.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom K

Sep 19, 2013
Hey,

I bought a house with what appears to be a Woodchuck 3200 wood/coal boiler in the basement. Check out the pictures. Never heated with wood before but I'm not afraid of learning new things either. Check out the pictures. I can tell that the large tank on the the ground holds water from the boiler. I also know that you can run this thing on electric alone and that works fine to heat the house (at a significant cost). The unit seems really solid but needs a cleaning. I couldn't find a manual for this beast any where, I don't think they make them anymore.

I guess you chuck the wood in the middle door and the thermostat control the blower under the fire as well as the water pump. That's about where I am right now. I'm going to clean it this week and and inspect the insides a bit better. I do not know what that little expansion tank is up in my rafters above the boiler.

What can you guys tell me about this unit? I couldn't really find a wood boilers for dummies video on youtube either, maybe when I'm done learning I should post one.

Maybe this post will help the next guy looking for help!
CAM00707.jpg CAM00708.jpg CAM00709.jpg CAM00710.jpg CAM00711.jpg CAM00712.jpg CAM00713.jpg CAM00714.jpg View attachment 112172 View attachment 112173

Hey,