Concerned about install (pics attached)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

KELL45

Sep 12, 2022
England
Hi all.. please accept my apologies I am brand new to this and seeking advice on the worrying temp of wall above new stove install. The stove is a 5kw Portway Arundel XL with a focus cast ceramic beam above. Wall recessed tv located above that. The fire burns beautifully and heats the room however the beam and wall above to the tv is incredibly hot to touch my understanding is that this should not be the case? I have attached an image

645B9A4B-CC48-4326-A236-5F8B17E6700B.jpeg

It's not surprising that the ceramic mantel and masonry surrounding the stove would get hot. The radiant heat is trapped in the small alcove. A more convective stove with a blower could mitigate this issue somewhat.

Just to add to this post I have found some issues again which I don’t know are flaws or not? There is a gap around top of slate panelling? What appears to be cement crumbling off? And a lip on mantle which appears to be trapping heat? I have attached photos is this normal? Thanks

E6964C2B-7271-4AC2-9651-C84DC4F32D27.jpeg A31A86E9-4A7A-45A1-8E66-CFD58CC8A35E.jpeg 5E5C770A-A1B5-47EF-BDEA-93BB42277141.jpeg AFCB6BD4-0333-4065-A8C0-C2169DC274D8.jpeg