Considering PE T6 in an OLD house in Ohio...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Solaron

Hearth Supporter
Mar 16, 2008
Adams County, Ohio
Hi all!

Total newbie here. I've done what research I can, but I figured I'd come to the experts!

The wife and I are looking into putting a wood stove in; we spent about 1500 on heating this winter and that was more than enough to convince us. My father works for Davey Tree, so I get all the free wood I will ever need. We almost bought a Vogelzang before we actually did some research. Now, a few weeks later, wiser and happier and slightly confused, we're very interested in the T6.

Here's the situation:

My house was built in the 1850's. The chimney is ancient and the fireplace is tiny. We're having the fireplace bricked up and will be running the stovepipe up and into the chimney. We had a chimney sweep come out and estimate 3,000 to reline our chimney - is that a normal price?

My wife and I want to make sure we can cook on it reliably in the case of emergencies/power outages. The last 2 winters have both left us without power for 2-4 days at a time (we live in a very rural area) and I hate having to head to my parents for a place to stay.

There's an Amish store that sells/services/installs PE stoves about 10 minutes from my house, and I've heard great things about them, so I -think- I'm set on that part. I'll be pricing them Monday.

Any input anyone has on anything is great! I've been reading the forums for a few hours now and you guys really do know your stuff.

Thanks!
Scott

Solaron said:
Hi all!