Copper DHW coil in pressurized storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

hartkem

Jan 24, 2012
KC
Been toying with the idea of incorporating DHW into my boiler system. Have EKO 40 and waste oil burning buderus boiler in outbuilding. 500 gallons of pressurized storage in basement (one of those red preinsulated square ones new horizons sells or used to). I currently use a 40 gallon lp fired unit for DHW. I've been researching the idea of fitting one of those finned copper coil Water to water exchangers that bolt onto a boiler into my pressurized storage. I'm a fairly skilled welder and thought about removing the skin and insulation from the top of my storage and welding a custom made flange sized to one of those coils to bolt down to. I'm trying to avoid adding more pumps and this seems like a simple way to do it after the modifications are done. I would drain down the tank this summer when I'm doing some other repiping. What do you guys think?

Personally I would avoid cutting into my pressurized tank, and go with a plate HX to heat your LP tank. It would only need one more circ - I used a small B&G Ecocirc. And I guess something to control it. I used a Johnson A419.

My welding isn't 'skilled' though. But I did have some welding done on my LP tanks by a welding shop. They had to come out & touch up a couple of pinholes I found when pressure testing after I got them home. That was most likely due to getting cast fitting instead of steel - but I still would be very reluctant to cut a tank open after that episode. But some do do it with success.