Creosote on outside of pipes

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

VanBurn

Nov 22, 2015
Buffalo NY
Hey guys, I'm new to wood burning so please be patient. We moved into our home recently and it has a Timberline single door wood burner in it. Just had the chimney swept and inspected and we were told the pipes were all set and in good condition. He swept it from the roof and didn't spend much time inside the house, but now I'm starting to think our pipe coming from the stove was not installed properly. Not sure if that's something he could have seen from scoping down from the roof, but who am I to say.

We had a fire in it all day yesterday with no problems. Today however when I came home from doing some running around my girlfriend said she noticed some liquid dripping out of the pipes so she stopped using the stove and let it burn out. I took some pictures to hopefully get some insight as to what I've got going on here. Thanks in advance for the advice.

Attachments

• IMAG0606 (1).jpg
    IMAG0606 (1).jpg
    91.3 KB · Views: 213
  • IMAG0607.jpg
    IMAG0607.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 203
  • IMAG0608.jpg
    IMAG0608.jpg
    125.4 KB · Views: 230
  • IMAG0611.jpg
    IMAG0611.jpg
    139.2 KB · Views: 193