Defiant smokes at end of burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GSPdog

Feb 8, 2014
Vermont
My Defiant leaks smoke into our home only at the tail end of a burn cycle. I notice it when I return home from work in the afternoon, but not generally in the AM before departure to work.

Stove history:

I've been using this Defiant 1A stove for 10 years as the primary source of heat from the first floor of our two story raised ranch. I personally rebuilt the stove four years ago with the fireback kit from a VC dealer. Two years ago, after a chimney fire in flue 1 of 2, we installed an insulated 8" SS flexible liner inside the 12"x12" tile of flue 2 (which went to the fireplace upstairs), broke though the masonry floor of the fireplace, and connected to the Defiant downstairs. Flue 1 was abandoned and capped; the fireplace opening upstairs was bricked in. Now we have one 90 degree stovepipe bend over the stove to the thimble and the SS tee at the outside cleanout and then 22' of straight vertical liner to the cap.

The draft was appreciably better than before and we can use the horizontal damper function where we couldn't pre-liner. Last season was our first year with this setup and things seemed fine, to me. My wife now says there was some smoke inside at times and more dust overall. This year I notice the smoke almost daily as I'm allergic and feel symptoms, and slight haze on a sunny day, in the afternoon when the AM fire is almost out. The dust on furniture is also noticeably worse than before.