Definition of burn time

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

archer292

Jan 3, 2008
LI NY
I have read about some incredible burn times on this site. Can someone tell me how the burn time is measured?
Is it from the light of a reload until there are just a few embers left? Is it the actual time between relaods? I have been thinking that it is time between reloads, not the actual time of a fire from start to finish. I would think the time between relaods, if you are burning for optimal heat would be considerably shorter. I am new to heating with wood so please bare with the noobie questions.

I doubt you want too many of us to bare with you.

burn time needs a qualifier.
my seasonal burn time is Spring, Winter and Fall.
In Summer I Coppertone.
(bear with me, I'm getting there)

in your context I would consider time between charges or resupply of wood.
although if in a bar and in need of braggart material One might go with match/fire / no fire ---match.
:)

After many iterations of this question my thought is that "burntime" is only useful when you are buying and talking about it with someone. The manufacturers need to specify a time for burn; so they will quote a number from fire start to coals at some stage.

A far better way to think about this is what it takes you to heat your house. From the beginning when you start your fire to the point when you have coals that are not keeping the stove hot enough to heat your house; this is the duration of your heat cycle.