Disappointed in PDV heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jss227

Burning Hunk
Dec 15, 2014
Hancock Maine
I have been heating 900 sq ft with a PDVC set on C for 2 years. On setting 8/9, I would burn a bag every 10 1/2 hours, cutting back to 3/9 every 8 hrs for 15 mins. to burn down the coal bed. This would keep my downstairs at 70* at 0* outside temp. Below that I have to run electric baseboard. Last Thursday I installed a new PDV from AM/FM energy. I did a board reset, (ignitor not working, feed and blower not synched), and set to C mode,(was in A). Fiday night set to 8/9 as the temps were dropping. Saturday morning with outside temp at 6* the house temp was only 67. I checked to make sure stove was still in C mode and started to measure burn time. This stove on 8/9 burns a bag every 12 hours. That's less than it's little brother. Same pellets, same exhaust, same location, but burns less fuel.

I did notice that when I did the mode change to C, that I only used one button, (same as PDVC), not two buttons as called for on the PDV. Wrong board maybe?

Any idea's folks ?

seems to be burning a little much is it not? My big e keeping my 1000sqf mobile home keeps it at about 23 and i burn a bag about every 30-40 hours. Even when the temps drop to -20 i go through a bag about every 24 hours

All double auger englander stoves use the same board you cant compare a big e to a pdv completely diff stoves dif homes to many variables.

Does the Pdv have the hopper/auger gate? Open that puppy up and see how it works.