Dolmar vs Husky vs Stihl

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

willisl64

Apr 6, 2008
South Central IA
Hey there - I have a dolmar ps510 that is giving me headaches - saw is near new and keeps running lean on me, even though I mix the fuel extra rich...already stuck the piston once and had it replace under warantee (after only 1 cord of wood cut). Used the saw yesterday with no problems on 1 more cord, then it started acting up again today...I stopped before the piston stuck, but who knows...I am fairly new to cutting my own wood and am contimplating a new saw - Dolmar and Stihl have dealers in town, and I prefer the dolmar guy but am a little gun shy - Any advice on a 50cc or so saw? Also suggestions for a limbing saw would be appreciated...Thanks!

Sounds like something else is wrong on the saw, likely an air leak somewhere. I'd contact Dolmar and complain that you are still having issues after the warranty fix.

What saw oil are you using?

Are you using premium pump gas?

What mix ratio are you using?

Are you using fresh gas? Remember gas goes stale after 30 days and shouldn't be used, especially on a saw that is being broken in.

TMonter -