Drolet Savannah vs Jotul f400 for mobile home

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

flight301

Jan 13, 2014
New york
Hi everyone,
I am new to the forum. I grew up in a house heated solely by a wood stove, but I am not an expert on wood stoves by any means. I am trrying to decide between the Drolet Savannah and the Jotul F400 Castine.

My fiance and I purchased a 14x70 mobile home and moved it onto our property. We were planning on getting a wood stove over the summer (the Drolet Savannah), but now we have 2 options and we may not be able to pass up on one of them. The Drolet Savannah is currently on sale at Northern Tools for $645; its normally priced at $760. After seeing this I am tempted to buy it because the extra savings will pay for the shipping cost because we don't live near a Northern Tools. However, I am always browsing craigslist for used wood stoves, and today I happened to find a Jotul F400 listed for $400 within 20 miles of where I live.