Eko Orlan 60 gasser fine tuning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Maine wood burner

Jan 22, 2022
Maine
I live in a large old farmhouse in Maine. I have been heating my house with a New Yorker for 20 years and with a waist oil boiler for 7 years. I have purchased a used Eko Orlan 60. I have plumbed a loop to a 1000 gal storage tank. There is a circulator (Taco 0010) pulling return water into the back of the Eko. I have an LK armature tempering valve to prevent cold water from being fed into the boiler. I have a loop plumbed to bypass the tempering valve. I have been leaving the bypass valve closed. From the Hot water supply loop to the storage tank, I have a tee that feeds hot water to the oil fired back up boiler. Both of these loops have flow check valves. There is a circulator in this line Sending hot water to the oil boiler and the house header. If I don’t have the storage tank valve off, I have to run this circulator (Armstrong Astro 210) on the low setting. Also I have a ball valve closed more than 50% to reduce flow through this circulator feeding the oil boiler. If I don’t throttle the valve, I pull water from the storage tank. My intent is to pressurize the loop from the Eko to the storage tank with more flow than the circulator feeding the oil boiler will steal from this loop. The idea being, any hot water not being pulled from the loop will be circulated through the storage tank, and back to the Eko Hot water return. All plumbing is 1-1/2”. The Eko is about 3ft lower in elevation and about 60ft of plumbing from the oil boiler header. I have a couple of issues.