Englander pellet stove woes

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

GregComeau

Dec 13, 2019
Canada
Hi there, I’m new to pellet stoves but in less than two weeks I’m getting a brand new trade it seems.
So I bought a used Englander 25 PDV
First problem was the top auger motor went so being in a rural area I had limited access. I found a motor that seemingly was the same with the exception it was 2 rpm and not 1
It worked and provided pellets and the stove worked as it should. Now the top auger won’t turn again and when I put a meter on the Leeds from the main board instead of providing 118v it’s only 26v. Is this due to one of the safety switches inside or is the main board cooked?
Help is appreciated.

Your first problem is the auger motor, by using a 2 RPM motor, your using more fuel, essentially wasting pellets. Have you tried swapping motor leads to each auger to see if the problem stays with the top auger or moves to the bottom? That would give you some ideas as to where to look next.

All that said, if you're only getting 26 V, you've probably got a fried mainboard, which, unless you're good with electronics, means $257 for a new one. You could try a board reset, you should be able to search on here for the procedure. You can also try to put the stove in diagnostic mode and try to run the augers that way as well.

Let us know what you find, there's a good bunch of people on here and we can point you in the right direction.

Eric