Englander wood stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Skippy20

Nov 7, 2016
Michigan
Hi I'm new to the forms and wood Burning. Let me start by saying I have narrowed down the wood stoves that I would like to get it's the Englander just not sure if the 13-NCH or the 30-NCH. The stove will be my primary heat source.

House info: it is 1200 sqft Bungalow style house it a old house built in the 1930s. The house is located in Michigan so it does get blow 0 here. The stove will not be placed in the center of the house as there is not any room the only spot I can will be in the back of the house. So I'm sure that I will be using fans to push the heat around the house. Layout of the house is back room where the stove will be leads into the kitchen. Off the kitchen is a small hall and dining room. The hall goes into a living room, bathroom, bedroom and upstairs. The dining room goes into the living room. Besides the bathroom and bedroom there are no doors separating the rooms. Upstairs is a hallway the goes into two bedrooms.

So the 13-NC says it heats up to 1800 sqft but will it work in this house? And the 30-NC heats up to 2400 sqft will that be way to much for me?
Any help would be appreciated.

Do a rough heat loss calculation on your home. That is the calculation a good contractor would do if you were replacing your furnace and estimating what BTU furnace you would need. This will get you in the ball park.