ENVIRO EF3 / SEEKING INFO

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TYRMYKE

Jan 14, 2015
WESTERLO NY
I am new here. Hello to all. I am also new to pellet stoves. And I have questions. From what I've read and heard.. this is a great stove. But to me it seems awful finicky. I read the manual, clean it way to regularly, talked to a pellet stove service guy, but I'm just not satisfied. I read a lot about pellet quality, but being new to pellet stoves I wouldn't know a good one from a bad one if they were labeled "good" or ":bad" I've tried 3 different brands but I don't notice much difference in any of them. I clean the exhaust ports, remove the exhaust blower, remove the inner panels and go nuts on the thing there's nothing that hasn't been cleaned repeatedly, but it just doesn't seem to work like I think it should. So... I guess I'm curious how many bags of pellets other people are using on average and how other peeps are setting their dampers. I had issues with the burn box loading up and overflowing and everything I read said more air, so I opened up the left side and loosened the stopper and was running the thing all the way out. I spoke to a service guy for pellet stoves and he seemed angry with me and told me the damper should be set about a "thumbs width out from fully closed and shouldn't even burn all the way open"!! He even offered too buy the stove from me , said it was the best one enviro ever made!!
I seem to burn on average 3 20lb. bags in 24 hours. I don't know if this is a lot or not??