Equinox or Blaze king...output differences?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Manatarms

Sep 11, 2009
Northern NJ
Hi guys,

Another newbie here. i've gleaned through the site over the last few month...excellent content! Anyway I'm in the market for a nice giant stove to heat my house this winter. 3000 sf contemporary with open 1st floor and cathedral ceilings which open up nicely to the 2nd. I'm planning on installing the stove in the room with the cathedral ceiling with the intention of having the heat rise up to the second floor to heat the bedrooms. If necessary, I can install ceiling fans to move the air, or turn on the A/C in "fan only" mode. The A/c returns are at the top of the cathedral ceiling area, and my guess is it would do a good job of distributing the heat throughout the house. I'm not sure what it will cost to run the fan this way.

My wife and I have been looking at stoves for the last year and she REALLY likes the look of the Equinox. We're also looking at the Blaze King King however the wife thinks it is too industrial looking (i.e. ugly). Now in all fairness, we only saw the full pedestal (ultra) BKK in person and I believe the parlor model of the BKK might be more appealing to her.

I know I'm comparing two different animals here....soapstone not cat vs. cast iron cat stove. However, these appear to be the only two stoves in this size category. I've read quite a bit on this site about soapstone vs. Cast and cat vs. non-cat. I'm confident we could live equally well with either beast.