Error with Smoke back in Englander 25-PDVC

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Tvo-2

Feb 12, 2016
A little background info first. I am relatively new to pellet stoves as we bought a home in June 2015 with two already installed. One the aforementioned 25-PDVC and the other a Breckwell Big-E. Both have outside/cold air intakes and I am burning Barefoot pellets in both. The breckwell runs like very clean and hardly leaves behind any ash after burning. The Englander on the other hand leaves a fair amount of ash behind and i am constantly cleaning the black soot off the window.

This past weekend we experienced what I would consider significant smoke back from the Englander stove. Unfortunately my wife was the first to catch it and unplugged it before I could note the error code (if one was even displayed). Looking inside the unit while door still closed I discovered a smoldering burn with no flame and smoke pouring out of the hopper and out the lower front (just below the main unit on each side of the door). Oddly enough there were a couple wet spots on the stone slab just under the two spots (below the door) where the smoke was pouring out; there continued to have some water drip out of these 2 spots.