ESW Add-on 28-3500 Keeping glass clean

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

freeburn

Feeling the Heat
Jan 5, 2008
USA
Anyone with the Englander add-on have trouble keeping the glass clean? How often do you clean your glass? What's your average flue temp?

I have a 28-3500. I have been using it for three years now. My first year I had a heck of a time keeping the glass clean. What I found out from talking to people on this forum was that my fires were not hot enought. Once I learned and became comfortable my fires got hoter and now my glass stays clean. Every now and then it may have some stuff on it but when I reload and bring up the temp it cleans it back off. I do not know what my flue tems are becuse I have no gauge. I am planning on getting one soon. I do have a magnetic thermometer on the firebox by the front top leftside of door. I usually keep that around 400. I only have that just so that I have someting to tell me what kind of heat I am puting out at the registers. I know that at 400 it's cranking out the heat.

biggest thing is dry seasoned wood *second biggest thing is dont cut the wood 25+ inches long so the edge of the round or split is right up close against the glass,my average flue temp once up and going is 350-450