exterior fireplace downdraft

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

sdhearth

Feb 13, 2017
NY
Hi,

I have a wood masonry fireplace (built in the 50s) that is on the exterior wall. The fireplace is on the first floor of a two story (1 1/2 cap cod) house. The fireplace the highest point of the house. The hearth is always cold and when I open the damper there is a downdraft. I've tried building a fire a few times and I always get smoke in the house. Granted I am new to fireplaces so I may not be doing it right.

I had the fireplace cleaned and the sweepers mentioned that the fireplace looked like it was hardly ever used. So I believe the previous owners of the house always had this problem and just didn't use the fireplace. They were the original owners of a 1950s house. So it is kind of hard to believe they lived so many years with such a problem. Anyhow, I moved in and now it is my problem.

I had one chimney company come in and they said it was a downdraft problem, probably wind hitting a building or something and coming down the chimney. There is a house within about 12 feet of the chimney that is a mirror of my house and a few feet higher. They didn't look to see if there were any buildings close by, so I got the feeling they were just guessing. Anyhow, they suggested a vacu stack. They said it stops air from coming into the chimney opening. They said they could do it for $1200. They didn't mention anything about the exterior chimney being a problem.