Fireplace facade brick cement?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

vig1116

Sep 3, 2015
NJ
Hey guys, total newb here looking for help. I am pretty handy at most, expert at none type. I am currently in a DIY fireplace project since the estimates i am getting are 4-5k for a very small job. In the pic you will see i have the hearth in place and I'm ready to build a brick surround around the fire box to then put ledger board to the bricks. The bricks will be 12" on the sides and top, about 1/2" from the stone that you see in the pic. So, what cement should be good for this? Originally i was just going to use fire cement to be on the safe side, but all i could find were small 1/2 gallon pre mixed buckets, and it would take me a ridiculous amount of buckets to do this. I think that's overkill though because this is a facade, not the inside of the firebox. What do you think i should be using? Thanks guys!!!

IMG_4459.jpg

PS I tried to keep the story short, but i want you to get the whole picture. The opening you see is 38" high so i am building the brick to about 30" then using a steel L brace to span the width then brick 12" up from there. Also, i was just going to use the fire cement on the areas that will see direct sight of the fire when lit. (for instance, the back side of the bricks that are on the steel brace and the inner brick near the openings.)

Last edited by a moderator: