Fireview Flue Temp vs Stove Temp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Randyb

Jul 27, 2008
Lakes Region NH
I'm new at this and was curing the stove and stumbled upon something I couldn't remember having already read here so here goes.

I got the stove top temp going to just below 300 and the pipe temp reading 325 and engaged the CAT and decreased the airflow to just dancing flames, the stove top temp continued to climb up to just over 350 but the pipe temp went down to around 225. So my question is, the pipe thermometer says that below around 260 is too low a temp for the exhaust going through the pipe, but the Fireview Cat is supposed to be really clean burning so if the pipe temps are to low is there still the strong risk of buildup or is that negated by how clean of a burn the Fireview is? Or, am I just doing something wrong with how I've done the first burn? Or am I just worried too much because I'm new at this?

The setup is:
Fireview connected to approximately 5.5' single wall 22GA into wall for 26" SS 6" with air insulated through an 8" SS (Thimble) into Tee and 22' of Ovalized 6" SS with insulated wrap in masonry chimney, the draft is pretty strong (IMO). I've attached the picture for reference, if anyone can shed some light or impart some knowledge it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

dsc0953pe9.jpg

I meant to put this in the Hearth Room for better exposure and possible help, if someone could move it there it would be much welcomed. Thanks