Flexible stainless steel exhaust flex tubing as chimney liner???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wowchad

I'm in trucking parts business and can get .018-.022 gauge 302 SS exhaust flex at cost. Is there any reason why that wouldn't work as insert liner?
I think it's pretty thick compared to the standard chimney liner I've seen...is 302 a lesser grade stainless?

I'm no expert, but I noticed that the stainless for wood smoke liners is surprisingly exotic -- 316 with extra titanium, and stuff like that. Something to do with surviving a chimney fire, which ordinary stainless may not be up to. There's also quite a brew of corrosive stuff in wood smoke, and more likely to be condensation in a chimney compared to a big rig stack.

Now with this bump, maybe we'll hear from the experts... good luck.

Eddy

You're on the right track - the official explanation that I have heard is "The added titanium prevents the carbon (specifically chromium carbide) from precipitating at the grain boundaries during elevated temperature service" That is a fancy way of saying it helps the steel remain corrosion resistant at high temperatures - generally above 1500F.