Flue/insert what to do?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

dvd1217

Feb 12, 2023
NYC
Hi, I’m trying to understand what happens with install with existing flue? Meaning does the flue get removed and the 6” line get put in for an insert but wouldn’t there be cold around around stove then. I’m sure there is a remedy I’m just a novice when it comes to stoves and inserts. Enclosed are photos of my flue opened and closed in existing fireplace before insert install. Looking at Kuma cascade, Montlake 230, regency 2500. I’ve heard good things about PE but with no credit I feel like not worth it.
Thanks!

66B7C880-41B3-441B-A6A3-28BFB914C5DF.jpeg DFC03AB5-3705-4EBF-B001-F5B2EA858337.jpeg

After the chimney and smoke shelf have been thoroughly cleaned the insulated liner is installed. If it fits, nothing is done to the chimney's existing tile liner. The damper may need to be notched or removed to clear the liner. If the insulated liner doesn't fit well due to a narrow chimney tile, then the tile liner either needs to be ovalized or removed.

The Montlake 230 also does not qualify for the tax credit. The only non-cat that does is the Lopi Evergreen insert. You might also want to consider a Blaze King insert.

After the chimney and smoke shelf have been thoroughly cleaned the insulated liner is installed. If it fits, nothing is done to the chimney's existing tile liner. The damper may need to be notched or removed to clear the liner. If the insulated liner doesn't fit well due to a narrow chimney tile, then the tile liner either needs to be ovalized or removed.