FPX 44 expansion and contraction noise

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Surveyor

Feb 15, 2015
Auburn, MI
First post here. Still learning the ins and outs of our FPX44 in our new home. This is my first time owning a wood burning product. During warmup and cool down we get loud bangs from the stove. Is this normal? Will it work in over time and go away? Or is it something entirely different?
We use the FPX mostly for ambiance. It will be used as backup if our geothermal can't keep up or we have an extended power outage.

Hi Surveyor

Yes, the banging and sometimes creaking sounds are part of what the stove does when all that metal expands and contracts whilst heating up or cooling down. My stove sounds like someone is tapping it with something metallic. I've heard some folk here say they think of the tapping as 'the welcome sound of heat'. It's alarming at first if you don't know what to expect - it was to me too...You'll get used to it.

As you get to know the stove you might start to notice other slightly different sounds.. Like a more 'urgent' more rapid tapping if the stove is going past its higher temp limit. It can be useful! My stove pipe connector also makes sounds sometimes, where it exists the rear of the stove and enters the stone wall just behind.

I've never heard of your type of stove before... Any chance of a pic? Folk here love pics !