Godin Woodstove help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cburke

Burning Hunk
Feb 24, 2014
Honeybrook Pennsylvania
image.jpg image.jpg
Hello all! So I am a a newb to woodburning stoves so bear with me! I just moved into a new house with a beautiful antique godin Woodstove that is in great shape, I have plenty of firewood to burn I live in the woods. I just need help running this stove consistently. I have done some research on the stove and I know it's not a monster for heat but I don't have a big house to heat, so what I need help with is how to get this thing hot and keep it there. I can get it hot but it doesn't stay that way consistently, there's a damper in the flue that I have no idea what to do with. I use a mix between hardwood from my yard( maple and beech both well seasoned) and a wood brick fuel. Basic a pellet block I beleive. Now the wood brick burns very hot just quickly. Any ideas on how to run this thing efficiently and hot, and how to use the flue damper. I'm guessing it slows down the speed of the burn, does it also keep heat in the stove and not up the flue? The stove is a 3721 I believe that's what the plaque says but the lid says 2121. Here are some pics as well. Thanks everybody. Also just remembered, is the temp gauge on the flue pipe how hot my stove is running to heat the room, or just how hot the flue pipe is. And should I get a temp gauge for the actual stove. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
If you get two hours worth of heat out of that lil pup with wood I would be amazed.