Got Oak?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

sprawlnstall

Burning Hunk
Jan 15, 2018
Minnesota
I’ve been eyeing this oak for a few years, it started dying several years ago. It looked dead last summer, weather is starting to cool off so it’s go time. I put a notch in it today and a few wedges. It is solid, had to put on the 24 inch bar to notch. I cut a similar one down two years ago and it is dry now. I’m curious what the moisture content is going to be. I’m guessing fairly high, dead or not a big oak like this is gonna take a while to dry. Will probably end up splitting the big stuff on site, a 16 inch round of this is heavy. Any guesses on how many cords this is?

27DF0991-0FB7-4193-A503-D4E0BB16F528.jpeg

Depends on how much time you're willing to spend on branch wood. The trunk is easy, measure circumference, convert to radius (r = C/6.28), then cross section (A = pi*r^2), and divide by 144 in2/ft2, if you were working in inches. Then just multiply by feet, and divide that by an assumed 85 cubic feet per stacked cord.

I think loggers actually carry a tape measure that converts circumference to radius or diameter and cross section for them, to save on scratching a lot of math into the dirt at the wood lot, but the simple calculator on your phone is all that's really needed today.

I've had rare individual trees yield more than 3 cords from the trunk alone, but 1'ish cord trees are much more common.

I like processing branches. Less splitting! Lol

A 24" bar on that 2165? How's that pull buried in solid oak? Beauty of a saw no matter what!