Greenwood Transfer Fluid

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jbeamer

Nov 10, 2010
Central PA
I recently purchased a home with a Greenwood 100 installed in an outside shed to heat my house. I'm just learning about all of this, but I've been told it is a closed system. I've been doing prep work getting ready to fire, and my instruction manual talks about checking the transfer fluid levels routinely and draining/changing it every couple of years. Here's the problem - I don't see this gauge anywhere on my stove. Plus, I don't have the "fill port" shown in the diagrams. The previous owner (who is a contractor and knows more than I do) said that the system doesn't use the transfer fluid because it is closed. Greenwood's website hasn't been helpful and, so far, I haven't been able to talk to anyone from that company. The stove is about three years old.

So, my questions: are some systems run without this transfer fluid? If so, is it okay to do this? If I should run it with the fluid, any ideas where the fill port would be hidden?

Thanks for any help that you can provide.

Welcome Aboard Jim Beam!

Question #1 . . .you say the GW is outside . . . follow the water lines coming out . . .where do they go? Directly into an inside boiler? Or into a storage tank or plate HX?

Q#2 There should be a date stamped (probably on the front plate, in the upper left corner) plate indicating when the unit was manufactured. What is that date?

Some general facts to get you up to speed . . .