Harman not auto starting or feeding

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Marsha Cook

Nov 17, 2013
NH
I am a newbie. Harman 61A was working fine when I left home. Got home five hours later. Stove was out. Was set on auto, so I thought it was warm enough. But it never came back on.

I turned it off, started again. Fed loads of pellets but no fire. Cleaned out excess pellets, started it manually. Now nothing is feeding.

Think I am in trouble but wanted to check with you folks. By the way, I am new but the stove came with the house so I don't know how old it is. Was clean when I got it and has been great until tonight.

Thanks for your thoughts

How many blinks on the status light? Could be your feed motor and/ or an igniter. You can check to make sure your pellets aren't bridged in the hopper also.

Status light on steady, no blinking. Just put 40# in the hopper! hate the thought of taking them out!

It may be build up of ash/scale on the ignitor that needs to be cleaned off (tapping on the burnpot may which may prevent the pellets from igniting. I've had this happen on my XXV where the pellets will feed, but don't ignite. Be sure to unplug the stove before doing this. Unplugging the stove may also reset the control box if something is locked up. Below is a page out of your manual.

burn Pot.jpg

Hello neighbor

Where are you located?

I worked on an Accentra today with a stuck flapper valve in the air inlet tube. I put the shop vac on blow and blew it into the air inlet tube and then the stove started up fine.

You may want to lube the flapper valve hinge with WD-40.