Harman P68 vs. Quadrafire Mt. Vernon AE

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Drew1024

Jan 29, 2008
Central NJ
I'm in the market. I have 4000 sq ft home. I know the upstairs will not be able to be heated with this, so I am looking to do my 2200 sq ft on the first floor. I am new to this so any suggestions on which you guys prefer would be appreciated. Pluses and minuses please!

They say the MT. Vernon AE will heat up to 3200 sqf. I think there are alot of factors, floor plan, air flow etc. Taking those into consderation, I would think either one of these stoves would do it. Don't have any experience with Harman, but have a Mt. Vernon it will heat the place up. Just set it on High and let it go until it heats up your place.

Deed said:
They say the MT. Vernon AE will heat up to 3200 sqf. I think there are alot of factors, floor plan, air flow etc. Taking those into consderation, I would think either one of these stoves would do it. Don't have any experience with Harman, but have a Mt. Vernon it will heat the place up. Just set it on High and let it go until it heats up your place.

Thats right....floor plan and air flow and BTU's are key to selecting as well as "name" AND good service unless you are handy. When we sell this place when I retire early....I will go for the more open floor plan on my next house :) Easier to move the heat.