Harman slow/ no ignition

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eng5ive

Oct 3, 2015
I'm still pretty new at all this. We have a P35i that I installed in the middle of October. It's been unseasonably warm so we really haven't used it that much except for a handful of nights it's dipped down into the 30's and 40's. The other night I went to start it and it wouldn't ignite while in room temp and auto ignition. This is pretty irritating considering I've burned maybe 5 bags of pellets and have been anal retentive about vacuuming the thing out before we light it.

I did some searching here and it seems like it's possibly a bad igniter. The burn pot was hot to the touch after letting it cycle and not igniting.

Is there a way to clean the igniter without removing the entire stove and disconnecting wiring? I know that sounds lazy but this shouldn't be the case after such little use. Any other things I should investigate?

Last edited:
If only 5 bags to burn I do not think that the igniter is dirty but make sure that the holes in the grate are not clogged and not having wet pellets

If only 5 bags to burn I do not think that the igniter is dirty but make sure that the holes in the grate are not clogged and not having wet pellets

The holes are almost perfectly clean and my pellets have been stored inside my garage for 3-4 weeks now with no moisture anywhere.