Harmon P68 igniter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

notolucky

Feb 25, 2012
Pittsburgh, PA
I'm a real novice. I believe I have a bad igniter. Where on the stove do I go after the igniter? Do I have to remove the back or some other panel? I can see it from the front but don't think I could get it out that way. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

How old is your stove? I have a practically new Harman Advance that was taking forever to ignite, and it was caused by the buildup of all the ash in the ignitor area. Once I cleaned it out, it fixed the problem immediately.

The ignitor is located right underneath the burnpot area. You'll see a metal plate with two wing nuts - just unscrew them and remove the metal plate. Take a vacuum (and use your fingers) to clean all the ash and fines out of the ignitor area, then put the metal plate back in place and fire the stove up.

Though the instruction manual calls for cleaning out that area once every ton of pellets, I clean mine out once every week or so, and even in that short amount of time it really fills up.