Help/Advice for successfully burning in a Hearthstone Shelburne

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sheepdog000

Dec 7, 2010
Midwest
OK, I am a rookie in here and have been reading until my eyes have pretty much started bleeding. I have a thermometer (magnet kind) that the store that sold me my stove gave me. They told me to put it on the stove top closest to the pipe (double walled). I will load up the stove and get get a fire going and about 3-4 hours later, burned up ashes. I have been using mostly ash. Some 75% seasoned BL has been mixed in. However, for amusement sake, I threw in a piece of Oak that I split the other day. GONE! I put in two pieces of Cherry that a buddy gave me, they were about 90% seasoned. Got hot as Heck, then GONE after about 3.5 hours. My stove is like a finely tuned Heckler & Koch Pistol, it's a damn garbage disposal for wood. I will stack the wood pretty tight and throw a few pieces of fatwood in there to help get the fire going. I'll have to flu all the way open and crack the door to get more air in the box. After it's rip roaring for a few and won't die when I close the door, I leave it alone. Then I close the flue about 40% and go to bed. I have woken up 4 hours later to find nothing but ashes, not even coals really. Then I have to start over. I'm worried about getting to much creosote built up. I have only been burning for about a month on and off & about a week strait round the clock.