Help - Looking for a pellet stove that uses as little electricity as possible

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DGBG

Hearth Supporter
Mar 11, 2007

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a good pellet stove that uses as little electricity as possible. Perhaps one with a manual starter? We would like to get a small pellet stove for our basement that could be run off the grid by our solar system.

I'm new to the pellet stove world so any suggestions you have would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Glad you made it to hearth.com. Welcome to the forum. Forum members, we went over the quads yesterday in my shop. I think they draw to much, expecially at start up. Doenst harmon make one thats a manual start?

Both the Thelin Gnome and Parlor use 12V circuitry which could potentially be run off solar power.

i belive the new thelins use a ignitor correct? Im not sure. I will have to talk to thelin next week.

When I ordered mine it was an option - $125. This was as of last spring.

The new Quad Mt Vernon AE uses all 12V motors and such, it can be run off of a deep cycle marine battery. You could probably run that off solar power as well. Only problem is it s a beast of a pellet stove so only good for heating large areas. So I guess it would not fit inot what you asked... which is "small". Otherwise all the quad unit use AC motors and automatic ignition so they would prob not be a good choice as MSG said.

The Thelin Gnome & Parlor 3000 are probably the most miserly with electricity. They will run without the ignitor when running on battery power.