Help make an old chimney functional and safe.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 10, 2014
Idaho
Howdy hearth members! I've been snooping on this site now for about a month and noticed how helpful everyone is.

As an adult I'm brand new to burning wood. My dad burned wood for years when I was a kid, but too long ago for me to pay any attention to it.

Current situation: The house I bought this spring is about 35 years old. The house has an exterior chimney. It's masonry with a clay flue liner. The clay liner is exactly 6"x12" inside dimensions. The chimney is 18 feet long and comes down inside the basement. You can see in the pictures that the basement wall is built out underneath the chimney. This is all concrete construction, as well as the ceiling of this built out part.

I had a friend come over who's done some work of chimneys and he put a new masonry cap on my chimney. The old one was chipped off and the top of the chimney was flat with no flashing. So he helped me seal the top off.

On the inside the previous owner had a 9 inch piece of metalbestos stuffed into the whole you can see in the ceiling. He had rammed a 3 foot piece of single wall black 6" stove pipe through the metalbestos and up into the clay flue. When we pulled that out there was creosote packed between they flue and the stove pipe about 2 feet deep from where it was sticking up from the ceiling. That didn't seem safe.