Help Tuning A 25-PDV

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jintoreedwine

Nov 13, 2014
Kutztown, PA
Hi all, this is my first year with a pellet stove and I am trying to get a sense for what is normal for my stove and what isn't. I have searched around the forums for pictures and videos of this stove burning and only found a few, which didn't really help me get a benchmark.

Just to get this out of the way, about 3 weeks ago I completly cleaned the chimney (I have a 13.5' vertical chimney and I used DuraVent Pellet Pro 3" pipe for it -- that goes into a clean-out T which connects to the exhaust blower.) I also have an OAK installed. Last week I removed the plate in back of the stove and fished a hose in and around the clean-out holes as best as I could (spent maybe 10-15 minutes trying to make sure I got as much as I could.) I've put about 1.25 tons through this season so far and despite the fact that the stove is an 08, I did purchase it new this year, so it started the season as clean as is possible.

Anyway, I have been burning Lignetics pellets for most of this year and they seem to have burned quite well. After a bag, the plate in back of the stove, and most of the inside of the stove is covered in a gray/white ash which is light and vacuums up easily.