HELP!!! What stove do I buy?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hawtdog

Sep 30, 2015
maine
I am new to wood stove purchasing and am not the most handy person. I need to replace our old stove, apparently our old one is "as useless as a fart in the morning", I am quoting the stove repair guy. I am really trying to find a good, reliable, easy to use model. The stove will be in the living room so I'd like it to be a bit prettier than a box. But mostly I want something economical and lasting. our current stove dimensions are height and width 27 inches and depth is 18 inches. The space I'd like to heat is 1200-1500. Mostly we use when the power goes out and to keep cozy, but am thinking of using if for more if I buy the right one. Are there stoves/manufacturers I should absolutely avoid? Also should I NOT buy from box stores? Thanks!!

Pics of current install, a floor plan even rough drawn is going to help immensely.

Do you have firewood ready for this season??? Split, seasoned etc?

Welcome to the forums !

Welcome hawt, Lots of great stoves out there. I'd go and look and see what you like and can afford. In most cases in formal areas, cast or soapstone stoves are popular, but there are lots of steel stoves out there heating homes. Look for a 2.0-2.5 cuft firebox stove, some Mfrs I'd suggest- Jotul, Enviro, Hearthstone, Quadrafire, Lopi, Pacific Energy, Blazeking and lots of others. Good luck on your hunt.

For simple good heaters that look good the Enviro Boston 1700 and the PE Alderlea T5 are a good place to start.