help with a newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ugotit22

Feb 25, 2015
ct
Hello everyone. My name is Keith and I just purchased a home with my wife in CT. I have been reading many topics in the forums and I thought I'd ask a few questions as I am new to burning.
My home came with a look Yankee bay pellets stove so I have quickly gotten used to running and maintaining that. My basement has a chimney that usedto be hooked up to a wood stove . I recently picked up a n old cast iron stove from a buddy in the hopes of buring wood in the basement and pellets upstairs.
The stove is an old hickory long fire box stove from I believe 1970s. I hooked it up with my buddy and sealed all the cracks with furnace cement where the older sealent was cracked.
When I burned for the first time tonightI could not get the stove hot enough into the safe burn zone on the thermostat. I tried closing the door and adjusting the damper and all it did was reduce what little fire I did have into a smoldering Smokey mess. If anyone has any info on what I'm doing wrong I'd really appreciate it .
Thanks

Keith

Attachments

• IMAG1738.jpg
    IMAG1738.jpg
    163.8 KB · Views: 182
  • IMAG1739.jpg
    IMAG1739.jpg
    139 KB · Views: 170