Help with boiler piper sizing and pump sizing

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Alaska1

Sep 22, 2016
Interior Alaska
I am new to OWBs but just bought one for a good deal to heat my large shop and would like to connect to my house as supplement heat

the boiler location will be approximately 75 feet from the barn BUT i want to enter the barn/shop heat the shop with hanging hydronic heaters that I already have and then exit the shop and go to my house ANOTHER 85 feet. I will then pump through a few baseboard heaters that I already have tie into my DHW for to cut the electricity out of my wife's shower taking and then loop back the same distance back to the boiler.

75 feet to the enter the shop -- under ground insulated pipe

90 feet to cross the shop to exit to the -- this will run along the walls and I can build furring to help insulate but it will be in a heated shop

85 feet to the house --- again insulated underground pipe

I estimate that to be approx 280 feet one way when you calculate bury depth and going up the walls to get around large garage doors

The boiler is rated for 225K but know the efficiency is not there. Figuring 20 delta T.
KEEP IN MIND that the shop will be the primary load I just want to use the boiler to help me get through the night with some baseboard heat to break the chill as the indoor fire begins to die out and to help break the chill on days that I really do not need a fire. strictly supplemental to avoid burning oil as little as possible

Barn/Shop -- 50x50 40R walls and 60R ceilings