Help with Clearances & stove pipe choices

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

namyzarc

Dec 18, 2013
NW Indiana
Hi all,
I'm a newbie here and have some questions. I have decided on an Englander 2200, to be installed in our great room. I have attached a pic of the chimney where I plan on placing it (centered). The flue entry point is about 63'' from the floor to center of the opening. I've colored it black in the pic to make it more obvious .
The width of the chimney is about 50''. It sticks out from the wall about 16'' on the left and about 20'' on the right (except for that step in front of the door to the right, which is about 9'' back from the face of the chimney).

Questions:
1. I'd like to position the stove as close as possible to the chimney, and as per the Englander installation guide, I can get as close as 5'' (with rear and side shields and double-wall pipe).
Since the Englander does not ship with side shields, and I am not concerned with side clearances, can I leave out the side shields, or do they still have to be installed in order to be able to achieve 5'' of rear clearance?

2. If I install the blower, the manual says to add another 2'' of rear clearance. I'm not sure at this point whether or not I'll use the blower at all, but I wanted to see if anyone here knows if there are any alternative installation locations for the blower so as to not have to give up those extra 2''.