Help with gas portion of dual-fuel Central Boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jon_E

Burning Hunk
Feb 24, 2014
SW VT
Kind of at a loss. I'm not a gas expert and don't know one. The burner was pre-installed at the factory and has never had a problem. Ordinarily when I turn the knob to gas only, I hear the following:

1. The motorized damper inside the boiler will open.
2. What sounds like an electric blower of some sort? Maybe a valve opening?
3. The "bzzzzzzzt" of an igniter lighting the gas.
and finally...
4. The sound of a full-on blue jet of propane flame (which I can see if I crack the door about an inch).

Lately I've been getting 1. only. No blower/air noise, no igniter, and certainly no flame. I am a little nervous about taking this thing apart. Should I? Is anyone familiar with these and can tell me if this is a user-serviceable problem or I need to find a plumber with a gas license? I know I have plenty of propane, and the valve next to the regulator (on the service line) is open. The thing quit working sometime in January, I guess.

EDIT: I should add, it's a WAYNE burner. Don't know too much else about it.

I think there is a switch that has to prove closed on the damper in order for the sequence to continue. The damper must rotate fully open to close that switch and send burner voltage on down the line.
I know some are set up that way. Not sure about the Central so you'd have to check your parts list to see if something like that is in there.

If so, your possibilities are damper not opening all the way,
switch out of position,
switch defective,