Help with install regarding stove pipe

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

knie0012

Hearth Supporter
Nov 30, 2009
Anchorage, AK
Thank you guys for your expertise and wealth of knowledge. I am new to the stove game and again find myself in the need of advise and guidance.

I have done much reading, research, and went to the local shops asking questions, however...

I have a 6 inch pipe, and learned that going double wall from the stove to the support box through the flat ceiling, then switching to insulated pipe out the slanted roof is the plan, no angles or bends (hopefully).

Does this sound right? I have done reading but find myself confused. Does the support box give support for the chimney above? Does it give clearances to combustibles in the ceiling? Do I need to frame the box in? Do I even need one? Could I shoot straight out and connect to the insulated pipe without a box?

Also, what is the consensus on brands of pipe? I have been told that excell is the only way to go. But the stores around here said the Lowes, HD brands are fine, just not the best. What are your thoughts?

Does my chimney plan seem to be ok? Do I need a different "thing" like a support box that goes through my roof?

Thanks for the help!

Jason
Anchorage, AK