Hitzer coal stoves, very impressive!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

webby3650

Master of Fire
Sep 2, 2008
Indiana
All 4 of these flues are running a Hitzer coal stove. There was never any smell or smoke. The inside of the caps weren't even discolored! They have been running for 2 days straight at this point. I think anyone that has kicked around the idea of a coal stove should definetly give Hitzer a good look!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    166.2 KB · Views: 340
I have been using a Hitzer 983 coal fireplace insert for around five years. I was hoping to compare experiences with other users. It puts out great heat, but I have concerns about some things. Mainly-shaking down the ashes. For some reason the cranks are designed to fit loosely on the grate. This results in excessive side to side motion. Within two years, I discovered that the crank actually had significant wear. Got a new crank. Now the trapezoid shaped design of the grates have each worn to the point that the crank goes way over 90 degrees from side to side without shaking the grate. Very frustrating. Three days ago the entire trapezoid stud-a thick casting-broke off the end of a grate. I also think the grate support frame has worn, as the grates have a lot of side movement and allow coal chunks to fall through. Anyone else? I would suppose that a crank should be designed to fit snugly onto the grate.

This is an old thread. You probably won't get the answers you are looking for buried in here.
Start a new thread with a new title, I hope someone here has some experience with that unit.