Holz Hausen and firewood on Vancouver Island.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to the site, looks great. I'm a firewood connoisseur in the rough here.. I've been burning pallets and wood scraps for a few years, but have now gotten serious about it. I've bought me a Stihl MS 361 and a 22 Ton Swisher splitter, and have been burning Douglas Fir for a couple of years now.

I live in Victoria, on Vancouver Island, where our summers average a nice 20 degrees C, so we have a good drying season. The bulk of what I cut is left on the ground after logging operations, and has been de-barked, so it's pretty seasoned already. Water squishes out of it when I split it, but in a couple of months it seems to burn allright.

HOWEVER, I want peak BTU out of the stuff, as my old house is only slightly better insulated then your average carboard box, so I want good and dry.

I have done some searching, and has anyone done a conclusive test on an HH vs your standard log pile? And overall how is Doug Fir as a burner? We have Pine, some broadleaf Maple around here, and if we are REALLY lucky, we get some Arbutus (Madrona), but that stuff is usually taken before I can get near it, as most of it is protected by law.

Can anyone also reccommend something decent to burn on Vancouver Island, or is Doug Fir about as good as it gets? We only have Gerry Oak Trees here, and once again they are protected by law.

LastChance said:
so it's pretty seasoned already. Water squishes out of it when I split it, but in a couple of months it seems to burn allright.