Homelite super xl chainsaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Leckbass

Sep 22, 2017
NJ
I've been using this Homelite Super XL Chainsaw for a few years, it was my father's, I never had any problems with it but it's heavy. I really don't know much about it, but it runs well and it has a 24 inch bar. The model number is 2080898.

I was thinking about buying a shorter bar, but not sure which one I should get?

Does anybody have any opinions on it?

I cut about 3 cords per year.

20171104_130222.jpg

20171104_130239.jpg

How big of trees do you regularly cut? Is your main reason for going shorter due to power or weight? And holy crap that thing is a classic. Makes my 25 year old husky 262xp look like a new saw.

Sent from my LG-H812 using Tapatalk

Not sure I'd spend the money and effort on a new bar for that saw. Neat collector saw, and if you still like it, go for it. But it's heavy, and pretty slow compared to modern stuff, and will be tough to get parts when something breaks.

I have a few older collector saws, and can't imagine actually working with one compared to a modern pro saw. Night and day.

Cool saw though.

Reactions: VirginiaIron
Neat to display in a den . . . or garage . . . but I don't think I would invest a whole lot of money into using this as a "daily driver". The weight, power and -- most important of all -- lack of safety features would keep me from using this on a regular basis.