Hot water coil in Quadrafire 5700???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JRAIDER

Hearth Supporter
Dec 8, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
Hi to all, I've been cruising this site for a long time and finally registered. It has been a great help in my own purchases, as well as giving sound advice to others. So here is the deal, Ive been heating with my quad now for going on three years. I only heat my home with wood and I have recently installed some hydronic tubing (pex) in my bathroom floors and want to heat the hot water it with my quadrafire stove. I have a 50 gallon storage tank situated close to the stove which will act as hot water storage. What I was thinking was putting a heat coil above the fire blanket. Hilkoil makes a stainless steel one that is sold on ebay. Kind of pricey though, i think. Anyways It seems out of the way, and shouldn't interfere really with anything or effect the draft. I would have to drill 2 holes in the back of the stove. My other idea was to build a small tank inside the step top portion of the stove which is hollow. Thoughts guys? Thanks

My own thoughts . . . I would not want to drill any holes in my woodstove when it is doing a fantastic job the way it is heating the house . . . moreover I would be a bit concerned with trying to build a Mickey Mouse hydronic heating system which could potentially get too hot or convert to steam . . . then again I am not much of a risk taker.

Oh yeah, almost forgot . . . Welcome to the hearth . . . offiically.

Yes - welcome!